Thinking of Words

I’ve been thinking a lot about writing, among other things. I rekindled my work on the novel I’m trying to write, and it’s going really well so far. The plot has evolved a lot since I started it way back when I was twelve. I hope you’re still working on it, Future Liam, or that you’ve actually finished it.

It’s always been a dream of mine to one day publish a novel. I’m not sure if that’s a common goal for people my age, especially considering I don’t read that often any more, but that’s one of few dreams that has never changed throughout my life.

I’ve noticed that when I focus on writing, however, that my thoughts change. Maybe it’s a coincidence, but since I started writing again my head’s been all over the place. It’s more focused and inspired, but at the same time I keep snapping back to reality wondering why I’m suddenly in the shower or something and why it’s suddenly over halfway through the month. My thoughts are always spinning now, filling my mind with half-formed sentences or images that are too fleeting to capture.

Despite saying I’m focused, I actually have a lot of trouble staying on the thought of what I’m writing without stopping and getting distracted with something else, even as small as looking out the window at the tree branches rustling in the breeze. My headspace is wrapped up in the plot or idea of what I’m writing, so in that sense I’m focused, but in terms of actually writing I’m very much the opposite. You know what I mean, I’m sure you’re still the same way.

I feel like this is a product of my undiagnosed ADHD, but I could be wrong. I’m undiagnosed, after all. I’m going to go make myself another coffee and leave that question for Future Liam to answer.

One Reply to “Thinking of Words”

  1. THIS IS IT! Write! If you dream to be a published author, spend your time writing! Work towards that awesome goal.

Leave a Reply

