Time

Today is my sisters’ twenty-first birthday. It’s hard to believe they’re twenty-one already, especially because that means I’m going to be twenty on my next birthday.I was going to write about birthdays and how strange of a tradition they are, but it seemed a bit trite when I typed it out.

I was going to write about birthdays and how strange of a tradition they are, but it seemed a bit trite when I typed it out.

So instead I’ll write about time. It’s relative to perception. It’s similar to the idea of perception of colours being relative. How am I to know that my experience of time is the same as your experience of time? That question can even be directed at Future Liam since I’ve already noticed that my experience of the flow of time has changed throughout my life. It fluctuates day to day, but I’m speaking more generally. As I’ve gotten older, my experience of time passing has seemed to speed up.

This month is ending in just a couple days. I can’t speak for you, but to me, it feels like it’s been maybe two weeks, not four. This entire year is near the end, and although a lot of huge things have been happening in my life, it feels like it can’t possibly be this late.

I’m not sure how to process this change of perception. It’s disorienting to feel like I’ve lost so much time.

One Reply to “Time”

  1. I agree, time goes too fast. For me Mondays are basically the weekend, Tuesdays suck, but half way through the week is the following day. Thursday is the day when i realize, shit, one day left. Then is Friday, and the weekend begins. But those days happen so fast now, and it will only get faster as time goes on. Unfortunately you are right.

Leave a Reply

