Schedules

I was watching YouTube this afternoon, and one video I watched by Dave (Boyinaband on YouTube) intrigued me. It was called The Happiness Experiment.[1]

I won’t get into the whole description of that video’s content, but one thing that struck me was the concept of Commitment Contracts, or rather how his translated into forcing him to abide by a schedule and how that schedule changed his productivity. If you aren’t aware (like I wasn’t before the video) a Commitment Contract is a self-contract with written-down goals and how you’re going to achieve them, as well as any rewards and/or penalties for breaking the contract.[2] Dave’s contract had his sister in control of monitoring him and administering the forfeit if he failed to maintain his daily schedule.

But what caught my interest was the idea of increasing productivity and overall happiness by having a routine. Lately, I’ve been doing whatever, whenever, and it hasn’t felt all that good. One thing I’ve been doing that’s felt good, however, is writing everything on my calendar agenda. All the trivial things. So maybe I’d feel even better if I extended that to a proper daily schedule.

I’ll write out a schedule tonight, see how it goes over the next few days. I’ll write updates here, probably, for Future Liam to follow how well I respond to scheduling everything.

Interestingly, though, I’ve never liked schedules when I was forced to abide by them. So this might go terribly and I might quit after one or two days.

Well, there’s only one way to find out.

 

Sources

[1], [2]

One Reply to “Schedules”

Leave a Reply

