Operation

Tuesday was a really big day for me, as you might have seen on the countdown if you saw it (now it’ll continue saying it’s the 28th until I remove it) – I had my first-ever surgery. Not some simple minor surgery, this was full-blown, intense major surgery.

It was an all-day event. Not the surgery itself, that was only a couple hours, but I was recovering in bed for a very long time. Heck, I’m still in bed recovering, but now that bed is my own.

I was really anxious leading up to the surgery. I almost wanted to call it quits and go home because of how nervous I was; I thought I wouldn’t be able to go through with it. I’ve never liked being in hospitals, and this was no exception. My parents were anxious, too, which just added to my anxiety.

The nurses and doctors that talked with me and took care of me were all extremely nice and made the experience go quite smoothly, however, and shortly I was in the operating room. That was quite a surreal experience, I have to say.

My worst fear was luckily not realised and I stayed safely unconscious throughout the procedure. I woke up much later in my own private room.

It was quite the big event and I’m going to be stuck at home recovering for several weeks, but I’m glad I did it. I’m forever free from periods and estrogen blockers. Just chest surgery left, and I’ve submitted all the forms for that.

All there is to do now is rest and wait.

One Reply to “Operation”

  1. Victoria Hospital in London Ontario, while obviously short staffed, made the whole experience run as smoothly as I could have imagined. And I’m very glad you didn’t wake up during the surgery, nor have any horror story to have to live through, but are safely home and recovering beautifully!

Leave a Reply

